Archive

My Music & Movie Rating Scales!

How I Like...:
Playlists, reflections and record guides for musical acts I like a whole bunch.
*AC/DC: 21st Century Masters
*How I Like The Afghan Whigs: The Albums
*How I Like The Afghan Whigs: The Playlists
*How I Like The Beatles: The Albums, pt. 1
*How I Like The Beatles: The Albums, pt. 2
*How I Like The Beatles: The Playlist
*Beck: 21st Century Masters
*How I Like Electric Six: The Playlist
*How I Like Hot Chip: The Playlist
*How I Like Hot Chip: The Videos
*Killing Joke: 21st Century Masters
*How I Like Low: The Playlist
*How I Like Low: The Videos
*Mimi Parker, 1967-2022 (includes a Low video retrospective YouTube playlist)
*Capitalism's Favorite Boychild: The Mekons '85-'89
*How I Like Lou Reed: The Leftovers, pt. 1
*How I Like R.E.M.: The Albums, pt. 1
*How I Like R.E.M.: The Albums, pt. 2
*Get Down On Litt: A Funky Space R.E.M. Compilaton '87-'96
*How I Like Screaming Trees: The Playlists
*How I Like Sloan: The Playlists
*How I Like Spoon: The Playlists
*How I Like Urge Overkill: The Playlists
*How I Like Yo La Tengo: The Albums, pt. 1
*How I Like Yo La Tengo: The Albums, pt. 2
*How I Like Yo La Tengo: The Albums, pt. 3
*How I Like Yo La Tengo: The Playlists
*How I Like Neil Young: The Albums, pt. 1
*How I Like Neil Young: The Albums, pt. 2
*How I Like Neil Young: The Albums, pt. 3
*How I Like Neil Young: The Albums, pt. 4
*My Handy Dandy Profoundly Subjective Numerical Rating Scheme For Albums

Movie & TV Reviews:
Stuff I not just saw, but bothered to write about.
*Anthony's MCU Binge: An Introduction!
*Anthony's MCU Binge: Phase One!
*Anthony's MCU Binge: Phase Two!
*I Loved Barbarian!
*I Hated The Batman!
*Boy, Did I Hate Beau Is Afraid!
*I Watched Every Episode Of Doom Patrol!
*I Watched The Dropout!
*I Hate-Watched House Of Darkness!
*I Finally Watched I'm Thinking Of Ending Things!
*I Watched The Night House!
*I Saw Nope!
*I Watched Half Of The Sandman!
*I Got Cranky And Watched Saw I Through VII!
*I Hate-Watched Smile!
*TAR! M3GAN! HELL YEAH!
*I Watched The New Season Of True Detective!
*I Finally Watched Twin Peaks! All Of It!
*I Watched X!
*I Dig Shudder! (Deadstream, Resurrection, Mayhem)
*I Watched Some Recent Thillers! (Dual, A Wounded Fawn, Sick, The Menu)
*I Had A Post-Booster Movie Marathon! (First Reformed, The Humans, Sin City: A Dame To Kill For, Alone, Krampus, Three Days Of The Condor)
*I've Got Some Spooky Season Streaming Recommendations! (V/H/S/2, Unfriended, Creep, Creep 2, He Never Died, Knock Knock, Krampus, Hush, 10 Cloverfield Lane, Hereditary, Midsommar, Southbound, Gretel & Hansel, The Belko Experiment)

Music Listicles & Reviews:
These posts contain commentary, links or some other aspect of value beyond listing names.
*Albums I Just Love So Much: The Darkness, One Way Ticket To Hell...And Back
*The Best Of The '90s That Pitchfork Forgot!
*50 Nonconsecutive Years Of Joyful Noise
*How Many Elvis Costello Album Openers Do I Hate?
*I Almost Bought A Billy Joel Album! (Billy Joel's Greatest Hits)
*I Listened To Billboard's Top 20 Songs Of 2022
*My 30 Favorite Albums Of 2023, pt. 1: #1-5
*My 30 Favorite Albums Of 2023, pt. 2: #6-30
*My Favorite Albums Of 2022
*My 10 Favorite Abums Of 2021
*Rock'n'Roll Hall Of Fame Nominees 2022: My Picks
*Rock'n'Roll Hall Of Fame Nominees 2023: My Picks
*The Best Songs Recorded By Anyone Ever: AC/DC, "Back In Black"
*The Best Songs Ever Recorded By Anyone Ever: Gin Blossoms, "Found Out About You"
*The Best Songs Ever Recorded By Anyone Ever: John Lennon, "Imagine"
*The Best Songs Ever Recorded By Anyone Ever: Robyn, "Call Your Girlfriend"
*The Best Songs Ever Recorded By Anyone Ever: Smash Mouth, "Your Man"
*The 10 Best Songs Of All Time That I Don't Really Like
*The 10 Best Britpop Albums...According To An Indifferent Yank!
*Three Of The Best Songs Ever Recorded By Anyone Ever (Cyndi Lauper, "Money Changes Everything"/Scrawl, "Public Image"/Futureheads, "Hounds Of Love")
*22 New Songs I Knew In 2022

Silly List Slogs:
Lists of names without some other aspect of value.
*My 50 Favorite Albums Enjoying Anniversaries In 2022
*My 50 Favorite Albums Enjoying Anniversaries In 2023
*My 100 Favorite Musical Acts Of The Pop-Rock Era (In Terms Of Quantity) (2022 Edition)
*My 100 Favorite Musical Acts Of The Pop-Rock Era (In Terms Of Quantity) (2023 Edition)
*My Top 300 Albums Of All Time (2023 edition)
*My Top 300 Albums Of All Time (2022 edition)
*Top 5 Albums, pt. 1 (2023 edition)
*Top 5 Albums, pt. 2 (2023 edition)
*Top 5 Albums (2022 edition)

Blurbing For The Weekend:
My latest attempt at a catch-all collection of blurbs about movies/music/whatever.
*BFTW 2/9/24 (Mojo Nixon RIP, Event Horizon, The Empty Man, Treehouse)
*BFTW 2/16/24 (MSG Supergroup Tracklisting, No Country For Old Men, Zodiac)
*BFTW 2/23/24 (R'n' HOF Nominees, Suspect Zero)
*BFTW 3/1/24 (Blackberry, Thanksgiving)
*BFTW 3/8/24 (Man Bites Dog, The Gift, R.E.M.'s Reckoning Deluxe Reissue)
*BFTW 3/15/24 (2024 Pop Conference, Used Disco LPs, Kurt Wallinger RIP)
*BFTW 3/29/24 (Alien, Sinister)
*BFTW 4/5/24 (Bullet Train, Talk To Me, Head Count, Ghost Stories, The Strangers: Prey By Night)
BFTW 4/12/24 ("Skipping Like A Stone," The Ring, Free Fire)

Canon Fodder:
Brief blurbs about about old albums I've newly (re-)purchased on CD or LP.
*Canon Fodder #1: Tally Ho! (Alice In Chains, Bad Brains, The Cars, The Clean)
*Canon Fodder #2: I'll Be Satisfied (Kool & The Gang, LCD Soundsystem, Nellie McKay, Tom Petty, Jackie Wilson, Bill Withers)
*Canon Fodder #3: Icing Sugar (The Cure, Girls Against Boy, New Order, Teenage Fanclub)
*Canon Fodder #4: Seek Sound Shelter (Fugazi, Giant Sand, Lungfish, John Prine)
*Canon Fodder #5: What A Time To Be Alive (!!!, Hot Chip, Sault, Superchunk, Told Slant)
*Canon Fodder #6: Blast Off! (Birthday Party, Vic Chesnutt, Horrors, Les Savy Fav, Rapture, Scratch Acid)
*Canon Fodder #7: Depression Blues (Donovan, Mountain Goats, Siouxsie & The Banshees, Talking Heads, Throwning Muses, Loudon Wainwright III, Rufus Wainwright)
*Canon Fodder #8: I Know I Know I Know (BEAK>, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, Fleetwood Mac, Mary Margaret O'Hara, Liz Phair, Spoon, Tegan & Sara)
*Canon Fodder #9: Swallow My Pride (Afghan Whigs, Bangles, Desaparecidos, Ramones, Teenage Fanclub)
*Canon Fodder #10: Lying's Just A Habit, John (Lungfish, Joe Tex, Jerry Butler, Mekons, Joni Mitchell)
*Canon Fodder #11: I Believe In Miracles (Fugazi, Ramones, Bob Dylan, Killing Joke, Silkworm)
*Canon Fodder #12: I'm Livin' In A Deja Vu (Wipers, Ambitious Lovers, Killing Joke, Bruce Springsteen, Too Much Joy, Aretha Franklin)
*Canon Fodder #13: Boogity! (The Coasters, Al Green, X-Ray Spex, Burning Spear, Neil Young)

Center Of The Universe:
'Twas an ever-changing playlist and make-believe radio show.
*Center Of The Universe #1 (1/9/23)
*Center Of The Universe #2 (1/16/23)
*Center Of The Universe #3 (1/23/23)
*Center Of The Universe #4 (1/30/23)
*Center Of The Universe #5 (2/7/23)
*Center Of The Universe #6 (2/14/23)
*Center Of The Universe #7 (2/20/23)
*Center Of The Universe #8 (2/27/23)
*Center Of The Universe #9 (3/6/23)
*Center Of The Universe #10 (3/13/23)
*Center Of The Universe #11 (3/20/23)
*Center Of The Universe #12 (3/27/23)
*Center Of The Universe #13 (4/3/23)
*Center Of The Universe #14 (4/10/23)
*Center Of The Universe #15 (4/17/23)
*Center Of The Universe #16 (4/24/23)
*Center Of The Universe #17 (5/1/23)
*Center Of The Universe #18 (5/8/23) [Awkward Early '83 episode]
*Center Of The Universe #19 (5/15/23) [Awesome Early '83 episode]
*Center Of The Universe #20 (5/22/23)
*Center Of The Universe #21 (5/29/23)
*Center Of The Universe #22 (6/5/23)
*Center Of The Universe #23 (6/12/23)
*Center Of The Universe #24 (6/19/23)
*Center Of The Universe #25 (6/26/23)
*Center Of The Universe #26: Freedom Rock (7/3/23)
*Center Of The Universe #27: With Horns (7/10/23)
*Center Of The Universe #28: Summertime Drive (7/17/23)
*Center Of The Universe #29: A Bit Much (7/24/23)
*Center Of The Universe #30: Elevator Music (8/1/23) [all-1993 episode]
*Center Of The Universe #31: Madcap (8/7/23)
*Center Of The Universe #32: 123, A To Z (8/14/23)
*Center Of The Universe #33: Skip Recap (8/21/23)
*Center Of The Universe #34: Nothing New (9/5/23)
*Center Of The Universe #35: Good Music Surrounds You (9/12/23)
*Center Of The Universe #36: 120 Minutes (Minus Ads) (9/19/23)
*Anthony Is Recommending (9/29/23)
*Anthony Is Recommending (10/12/23)

Everything Else:
Humor, meta, ponderance, thinkythoughts, et cetera.
*Can Someone Please Help Me Update Jive Bunny?
*Damn It, Netflix!
*Damon Albarn's Here To Teach You How To Be A Five-Star Shit Talker
*How To Skip Barbie Without Being A Sexist Concern Troll About The State Of Cinema
*I Went To A Thing!
*Libra Season, For No Good Reason
*My Brilliant Taylor Swift/Madonna Career Arc Parallel Theory
*The New Bob Dylan 10-Inch I Got Sucks!!
*On "High-Functioning" Anxiety
*On The 70th Anniversary Of 9/11/51