1 min read

My Handy Dandy Profoundly Subjective Numerical Rating Scheme For Albums

Unlock the mystery of what I mean when I selfishly dare to put a number next to an album title!
My Handy Dandy Profoundly Subjective Numerical Rating Scheme For Albums
Jack Black in High Fidelity, our saint of challenging music opinions.

"I love to blurb and I’m increasingly down to chronicle discographies in a SPIN Alternative Record Guide fashion. At the same time, I’ve grown to hate critical rating systems and the faux-objectivity they represent in media. At best, they are a distracting, gratuitous shorthand - a pointless focus of debate. However, I’m a nerd raised on the shit."

I wrote those words on Tumblr six years ago and they're still true. As I am once again down to chronicle discographies online, I've decided to update my handy dandy profoundly subjective numerical rating scheme here. Behold!

10 - Apocalyptic events aside, I will always have a physical copy of this album. I love every track.

9 - I should always own this album, and would pay full price for it. Maybe even overpay. I've got serious love for it, and if I don't currently own it physically, I'm not happy about that.

8 - I currently own this album, or would probably pay full price, but might hold out for cheap depending on my mood. It's a good one, though.

7 - I don’t need to own this album, but there’s at least a couple tracks I’d like to be able to access, whether via a compilation or streaming. Good stuff here.

6 - I barely need anything on this, but if you put it on, I’ll probably say something like ‘cool!’ It's fine.

5 - I probably don't need anything on this, maybe a track or two, but eh, whatever. The most frustrating grade, suggestive of an unconfident discontent.

4 - I don’t need much if anything from this, but I only hate it a little.

3 - I hate this, but it’s either got real character or one good jam.

2 - I straight-up fucking hate this, no redeeming qualities have yet to be found.

1 - I think this album could lead to one of those apocalyptic events suggested above.