4 min read

Center Of The Universe #27: With Horns

A playlist of '90s indie, peculiar stuff I remember from the '00s, and random goodness before and after. As is our wont!
Center Of The Universe #27: With Horns
Maybe I'll use out-of-context Frinkiacs here from now on.
Spotify playlist (updated weekly, but the YouTube links below remain)

Giant Sand, “Center Of The Universe”
Unwound, “Nervous Energy”
My Bloody Valentine, “Off Your Face”
Mountain Goats, “Shadow Song”

Welcome to the Center Of The Universe! For once, we’re going to follow the ‘90s indie rock theme song with more ‘90s indie rock! I was taken by surprise by the euphoria met by the Unwound compilations on Numero Uno and following reunion. I always thought they were, like, another indie rock band. But I’ve been investigating more thoroughly than I did back in college, and have started to grasp the intensity of the allure. I gave up on trying to figure out what’s so impressive about the My Bloody Valentine reunion album (beyond its existence, I mean), but I still dig the classic era. And while there’s a hailed Mountain Goats album or two that leaves me relatively cold (gotta feel unique), I can name big faves from every decade as well. Don’t sleep on Full Force Galesburg and The Coroner’s Gambit! That last one isn’t technically a ‘90s album, but as it predates the 4AD period, it might as well be.

Sam Cooke, “Sad Mood”
Diblo, “Kelele”
Wednesday, “Turkey Vultures”
James Holden, “You Can Never Go Back”

"Sad Mood" is the least streamed song on Sam Cooke's 1962 best-of album. Plays are still in the seven figures, but more than million below “Everybody Loves To Cha Cha Cha.” Before there was Diplo, there was Diblo. Diblo Dibala, a soukous guitarist from Zaire who played with Kanda Bongo Man and his own bands Loketo and Matchatcha. He’s the first guy I’ve heard in the genre who tempts me to use the verb “shred.” I’m not ready to say I’m on the Wednesday hype train yet, but this track definitely works up the gawky head of steam that can explain an indie rock hype train. I had no idea who James Holden was before checking out his new album, but “personally invited by Thom Yorke to open for Atoms For Peace” checks out. And I mean that as a compliment.

"There's a decent living to be made in the selling out of ideals" - Darren Hayes with the heat!

Darren Hayes, “On The Verge Of Something Wonderful”
The Undertones, “Not Over You”
A Tribe Called Quest, “Footprints”
Los Lobos, “Why We Wish”

I still haven’t heard erstwhile Savage Gardener Darren Hayes’ 2022 album, his first in over a decade (dude was busy making an LA comedy podcast for a while!). But I’ve never forgotten this fantastic 2007 single, and how the crazy specifics of the verses (“A samurai, an angel, an elegant table/ an AC that does not work”) lead to such a rapturous chorus. It never occured to me until making this playlist, but Hayes could probably crush an Undertones cover. His voice has just enough quiver he could intimate Feargal Sharkey without imitating. I’m a big fan of recognizable samples that refuse to resolve (think “duke-of-duke-duke-duke” on Cypress Hill’s “Hand On The Pump”), and the opener of “Footprints” has a doozy. Coming after Los Lobos' ‘80s heyday and the ‘90s hipster comeback, but lacking the conceptual selling points of recent albums, it’s easy to overlook an album like This Time when investigating the band. Don’t.

Devo, “Gates Of Steel”
Black Flag, “Damaged I”
Tegan & Sara, “Fix You Up”
The Twilight Singers, “Into The Street”

Devo knock the gates down. Black Flag put their walls up. Tegan & Sara nervously wonder if they can scale a lover's, let alone their own. On a disquieting lullaby, the Twilight Singers (back when that meant a pseudo-supergroup of Greg Dulli, Shawn Smith and Harold Chichester) swear “the wall will fall with me,” though they might hit the ground first.

Earth, Wind & Fire, sure having a lot of fun.

Steve Winwood, “Holding On”
Louis Prima, “Pennies From Heaven”
Earth, Wind & Fire, “Serpentine Fire”
Adam & The Ants, “Stand And Deliver”

A block of songs with horns! Was Steve Winwood’s Roll With It a nadir of commercial capitulation or a modernized return to that ol’ Spencer Davis Group soul? Do I only argue the latter due to childhood nostalgia for the dawn of VH1? I’m delighted to note that if you google “pennies from heaven lyrics,” the search engine immediately offers those recorded by Louis Prima, rather than the original Arthur Johnson lyric introduced by Bing Crosby and Billie Holiday, despite the fact that neither Crosby nor Holiday rhymed “sunshine and ravioli” with “macaroni.”  I wonder how many people first heard the Earth Wind & Fire horns via Phil Collins? Nothing wrong with that, but I'm glad my knowledge didn't stop there. “Stand & Deliver,” despite the climactic chaos that helps make it one of my Top 5 songs of all time, is actually pretty low on horns for an Adam Ant song (especially compared to Friend Or Foe). But there’s an introductory trumpet, so it makes the set!

Good Charlotte, “My Bloody Valentine”
The Prodigy, “Action Radar”
Bryan Ferry, “What Goes On”

I can’t swear the dramatic opening of this Good Charlotte song is a reference to the band My Bloody Valentine (the murder fantasy that follows sure isn’t), but I wouldn’t put it past them (or at least producer Eric Valentine). I thought “Action Radar” was one of the songs on The Prodigy’s 2004 album featuring Juliette Lewis, but the internet claims the track features Paul “Dirtcandy” Jackson and Louise Boone on vocals instead. I'd believe it was an actress going ham though! While the first single on Bryan Ferry’s The Bride Stripped Bare was allegedly a cover of my favorite Velvet Underground song, it’s actually a blend of that and “I’m Beginning To See The Light.” Somehow this Third Velvet Underground Album Medley failed to make the UK top 40 despite his last album landing two songs in the Top 20. Did he misjudge what the kids were into?

Harry Ellis and Hans Gruber singing Velvet Underground songs on a glowing staircase.

Eluvium, “One”
Garbage, “Vow”
The Alkaholiks, “Daaam!”

Did I learn about Eluvium’s Talk Amongst The Trees by googling up a Pitchfork listicle about ambient albums a year ago? No comment. Was I thrilled to find a CD at Amoeba for three bucks? Oh, hell yeah. “Vow” was one of the less successful singles on Garbage’s first album, but I remember it being on 120 Minutes a lot before the album blew up. And it still might be my favorite single from it (though the backwards guitars on “Only Happy When It Rains”? Hmmm…). Though my precocious ‘90s indie game is tight, I did not know the Alkaholiks then. My loss! On that wistful note of reflection, we depart the Center Of The Universe. Thanks for your time!