4 min read

Center Of The Universe #24

A slightly sillier than usual survey of semi-popular song and sound. Maybe?
Center Of The Universe #24
*shrugs*
Spotify playlist (updated weekly, but the YouTube links below remain)

Giant Sand, “Center Of The Universe”
Adele, “Send My Love (To Your New Lover)”
Fats Domino, “Yes, My Darling”
Rupert Holmes, “Him”

Howdy! We’re kicking off our time on the Center Of The Universe this week with a pop block! After our not-that-pop theme song is likely my favorite of Adele’s chart hits, back when she was brushing off excuses for romantic cruelty with “we’re not kids no more,” instead of asking for sympathy after dumping a husband because she ostensibly was “still a child." “Yes, My Darling” isn’t one of Fats Domino’s dozens of Top 40 hits, and I’m not sure why. Domino gleefully suggests a wedding ring will solve all his concerns on the track, but Rupert "Pina Colada" Holmes, whose “Him” charted higher than “Send My Love” (don’t you call him a one hit wonder!), knows better. Nobody gets Rupert for free!

Lindsey Buckingham, “Trouble”
Railroad Jerk, “Bang The Drum”
Etoile De Dakar, “Absa Gueye”
Grateful Dead, “Dire Wolf”

Yet more top ten hits from romantically paranoid dudes in the early ‘80s! This is one of my favorites; sometimes I think Lindsey really recorded it in a white cloud bracketed by a V made of goofy-ass guitarists and drummers. Whatever happened to Railroad Jerk? Are they the most unfortunately forgotten band from Matador’s classic era? Not enough room for them and the Blues Explosion now? Not that I should be even thinking about esoteric ‘90s indie rock when I know so little about Youssou N’Dour’s early band Etoile De Dakar. Other than that the music they made was gorgeous. I’m not convinced the Grateful Dead always were, but I dig Workingman’s Dead.

Lindsey Buckingham and his studio bros in a white cloud of "Trouble."

Lily Allen, “Friday Night”
Adina Howard, “Freak Like Me”
The Faint, “Let The Poison Spill From Your Throat”
The Rapture, “The Sound”

A retro xennial party block! Lily Allen and Adina Howard having very different weekend nights in their respective countries. At least I hope Howard’s describing her weekend state of mind. Imagine if she was acting like this on a Wednesday! Afternoon delight! The Faint, also sounding like they don’t have anywhere to be early the next morning. Am the only person who thinks the best Rapture album is Pieces Of The People We Love? I’ll admit it doesn’t inspire the same sense memories as Echoes (if you were in the right spots to enjoy them), but it’s got more jams, fewer ballads.

Husker Du, “In A Free Land”
Ben Sloan, “Calm Loop (feat. Felicia Douglass)”
Granville Williams Orchestra, “Honky Tonk Ska”
Ludacris, “U Got A Problem?”

Letting the Numero Group deal with the pre-SST Husker Du tapes and then saying “that’s all folks!” with not even an inkling of a promise we’ll see further archival efforts? Such a Bob Mould move, I swear. Ben Sloan with a slight slice of this year’s sound collage muted colors, and some atypically grand-for-ska showbiz from the Granville Williams Orchestra. I respect Ludacris focusing on his Fast & The Furious paychecks, but I do miss the atypically grand lyrical performance of his early ‘00s albums. It’s said that musicality is a sign of enthusiasm in a speaker, and Ludacris attacked the mic with such relish.

Little Feat! Woo! "Dixie Chicken"! Wooo!

Little Feat, “Dixie Chicken”
Xyla, “Now”
Saint Etienne, “Popular”
Queens Of The Stone Age, “Auto Pilot”

Between my fondness for New Orleans jazz and my tolerance of peak Grateful Dead, it shouldn’t be a surprise I’ve been enjoying Little Feat lately. Why Xyla’s 2020 album Ways resonates with me when so much other modern house leaves me cold is a lot harder to explain. Saint Etienne’s delightful tribute to Tom Ewing’s Popular blog is typically more my kind of dance effort. And here’s some early Queens Of The Stone Age with no real connection.

And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead, “Worlds Apart”
Phil Collins, “If Leaving Me Is Easy”
Stereolab, “Mountain”
Jacobites, “Ambulance Station”

The song that made And You Know Us By The Trail Of Dead persona non grata with aughts Pitchfork, what with its bluntly scabrous political lyrics being unconscionably gauche in its near-triteness. But even back then I wasn’t against a cathartic blurt of straightforward frustration. See the Phil Collins ballad from Face Value I like even more than “In The Air Tonight.” Not that I’m above a more obtuse indie-oriented blurt like the ones muttered by Stereolab over organ drones and splashing drums in the early ‘90s. Then comes the Jacobites, who I enjoy. But how is a Swell Maps fan ever supposed to make sense of Nikki Sudden’s shift to jangles and sighs? Where are the organ drones and splashing drums?

The Butthole Surfers do something to "Something." RIP Teresa Nervosa.

Frank Black, “Speedy Marie”
Basement Jaxx, “Smoke Bubbles”
Carly Simon, “It Was So Easy”
Butthole Surfers, “Woly Boly”

Remember when Black Francis was Frank Black? A guy who would climax a love letter to his then-wife with a multi-tracked acrostic? Not sure what beef Basement Jaxx fans had with Crazy Itch Radio - not enough star cameos? Too many natural timbres? - but I still can’t believe how little love it got compared to Kish Kash. Carly Simon missing the good old days on No Secrets, and the Butthole Surfers (who sadly just lost Teresa Taylor to lung disease) giving the good old days the what-for on Psychic, Powerless…Another Man’s Sac. Thanks for your time!