2 min read

How I Like The Beatles: The Playlist

Why let algorithms tell you how to explore the Beatles' discography when you've got a judgmental contrarian nerd right here?
How I Like The Beatles: The Playlist
The Beatles in 1967, possibly on something.

The Beatles! If you haven't heard them yet, I - like most music critics and the entire music industry - strongly suggest doing so. Though my opinions about which Beatles albums are the best do go against the grain, it still feels absurd to craft a playlist for some hypothetical listener who's curious but hasn't yet pulled the trigger on investigating the Fab Four. But hey, a band growing mustaches at the same time and dressing up in marching band uniforms is pretty absurd too. So let's lean in!

The playlist below is formatted like those legendary Red and Blue greatest hits albums. The first 14 tracks represent the songs I most miss from the albums and compilations I currently don't bother to own. "Side one" features the trilogy of joyous A-sides between the first two UK albums and four country-style heartbreakers from Beatles For Sale. "Side two" has the "Paperback Writer"/"Rain" single (their best A & B pairing) and a smattering of great tracks that didn't make the cut on their 1967-1970 but would've made mine.

Want to see John Lennon lip-sync a backwards vocal? Ever heard the Beatles' best B-side? Click and do both!

The second 14 tracks bounce around the 8 albums I have bothered to purchase, avoiding anything found on the canonical compilations ("Wild Honey Pie" is a secret bonus track representing the pause to switch discs - see Full Moon Fever). This is classic material, as far as I'm concerned, but - as usual - intended more as a vibe than a best-of.  Two rockin' White Album goofs from John! Two rockin' Revolver whines from John! Two slightly stiff valentines from young George (he'd be furious)! Paul shafted slightly on side 3, but making himself felt on side 4! Ringo covering Buck Owens and the Shirelles! John doing Motown! All bookended by (faux?) casual Lennon-McCartney duets from Let It Be. This is my Beatles, if not Jann Wenner's. And it's got more character than the "Beatles And Beyond" menu Satan's streaming service offers when you reveal an interest in the moptops. Dig it!

How I Like The Beatles: The Playlist

Side 1

  1. "From Me To You" (Past Masters, 1988)
  2. "She Loves You" (Past Masters, 1988)
  3. "I Want To Hold Your Hand" (Past Masters, 1988)
  4. "I'm A Loser" (Beatles For Sale, 1964)
  5. "I'll Follow The Sun" (Beatles For Sale, 1964)
  6. "I Don't Want To Spoil The Party" (Beatles For Sale, 1964)
  7. "What You're Doing" (Beatles For Sale, 1964)

Side 2

  1. "Paperback Writer" (Past Masters, 1988)
  2. "Rain" (Past Masters, 1988)
  3. "Getting Better" (Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, 1967)
  4. "When I'm Sixty-Four" (Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, 1967)
  5. "Baby, You're A Rich Man" (Magical Mystery Tour, 1967)
  6. "It's All Too Much" (Yellow Submarine, 1969)
  7. "You Never Give Me Your Money" (Abbey Road, 1969)

Side 3

  1. "Two Of Us" (Let It Be, 1970)
  2. "Glass Onion" (The Beatles, 1968)
  3. "I'm Only Sleeping" (Revolver, 1966)
  4. "I'm Happy Just To Dance With You" (A Hard Day's Night, 1964)
  5. "Boys" (Please Please Me, 1963)
  6. "The Word" (Rubber Soul, 1966)
  7. "Please Mr. Postman" (With The Beatles, 1963)

Side 4

  1. "Act Naturally" (Help!, 1965)
  2. "And Your Bird Can Sing" (Revolver, 1966)
  3. "Things We Said Today" (A Hard Day's Night, 1964)
  4. "Do You Want To Know A Secret?" (Please Please Me, 1963)
  5. "I've Just Seen A Face" (Help!, 1965)
  6. "Everybody's Got Something To Hide (Except For Me And My Monkey)" (The Beatles, 1968)
  7. "I've Got A Feeling" (Let It Be, 1970)